CFI-G to CFI-S ASEL Questions

Finally, a place for sport pilot instructors and/or wannabees to talk about instructing.

Moderator: drseti

JRSB

CFI-G to CFI-S ASEL Questions

Post by JRSB »

Hello all,

I've been lurking for a while but first time posting. Really appreciate the wealth of knowledge you all have compiled on this site!

I have my checkride for CFI-G soon and pending successful completion of it, I would like to add on CFI-S ASEL. I am a private pilot ASEL with well above the required hours for a CFI-S ASEL ride.

I understand that once I have my CFI-G ticket, hold the privileges of of s CFI-S Glider. Therefore, I can get a CFI-S ASEL via a proficiency check.

Assuming everything I said above is correct, I have a few questions I'm hoping you can provide guidance on:

1) After completing the proficiency check and sending in the 8710-11, will my Flight Instructor's certificate be updated to include 'Sport' on it (instead of just 'Glider')?
My concern here is that only having CFI-G on my FI certificate might confuse students whom I hope to instruct in sport ASEL (thus having Sport also printed would be ideal)

2) Any tips or advice on the admin side of things with the proficiency check?

Thank you all!
3Dreaming

Re: CFI-G to CFI-S ASEL Questions

Post by 3Dreaming »

Your new certificate will come back, and on the front side it will simply say "FLIGHT INSTRUCTOR" on the back it will list glider. CFI-G is a term that glider instructors like to use, but in the eyes of the FAA you are just a flight instructor. Personally when I sign off instruction in a glider I just sign CFI. I also don't think you will have to worry about confusing students. I don't ever remember having a student ask to see my certificate.