LSA Amphibians

Talk about airplanes! At last count, there are 39 (and growing) FAA certificated S-LSA (special light sport aircraft). These are factory-built ready to fly airplanes. If you can't afford a factory-built LSA, consider buying an E-LSA kit (experimental LSA - up to 99% complete).

Moderator: drseti

bayouelton

LSA Amphibians

Post by bayouelton »

I'm giving some serious thought about buying a SeaMax Amaphibian.

http://seamaxusa.com/

I'm an airline pilot (737 CA) who's never owned an airplane before. But I live on the water and think it would be neat to own a small LSA seaplane. Has anybody here ever heard of the SeaMax? Any opinions, pro or con? I've kept my CFI current just in case I ever need to update my resume but wouldn't mind giving seaplane lessons or sight seeing rides to help with the monthly payments. After all $120K+ just for a toy to play with is a lot. Any advice about potential headaches or possible unforseen problems from experienced LSA pilots would be most appreciated. Thanks.
Elton H.
[email protected]
Don't need no stinking badges.
Ocean Springs, MS
Daidalos

Post by Daidalos »

I never owned a seaplane, but have owned both a boat and a plane. You are certainly going to have the maintenance headaches of both worlds!

There were two Republic SeaBees (all metal) tied down a few spots from mine. I vividly remember them having to rinse them off with fresh water after each flight. Of course they were landing in salt water most of the time (based at KHWV).

The best of luck to you! May everyday be CAVU.
Marcus - WA2DCI
PP ASEL Instrument

Daidalos Greek: Δαίδαλος
Remember don't fly too close to the Sun.
ct4me

Post by ct4me »

'it does sound like fun... on a cruise to Alaska, all I could think of was the possibilities of a seaplane.