Big Boy LSA

Talk about airplanes! At last count, there are 39 (and growing) FAA certificated S-LSA (special light sport aircraft). These are factory-built ready to fly airplanes. If you can't afford a factory-built LSA, consider buying an E-LSA kit (experimental LSA - up to 99% complete).

Moderator: drseti

Medicman

Big Boy LSA

Post by Medicman »

Hello all,

I'm new to the LSA community and I think I'm excited about what I've learned. Now to address the large elephant in the room (that's probably me). In another posting line a pilot gentleman referred to "Chicago" sized or weighted - I'm talking about plain ol' large.
I'm looking for an LSA that might be comfortable for my bigger than big frame. I'm 6'7" and float freely beween 290 and 310; not so much girth as just all around big.

I've sat in some LSAs, like an s6, the primary problem is the lateral movement of the stick - it reaches my leg before its range of motion.
I've seen some taylor craft and aero chiefs that have the yoke type flight controls - that may prove to be helpful, especially in the whole flying the airplane part!!

Within the congregated experience, knowledge, and community pride I'm hoping to find someone who knows how to best find this Town Car of LSA-ville.
Any thoughts on cabin dimensions, leg room, seat adjustability. I'm not so concerned about luggage capacity as I am Pilot capacity. I will also fly alone if so required - everyone else can enjoy from the terra firma!!

Thanks for the info
See ya :wink:
Scott
dstclair

Post by dstclair »

You might try the Sirius -- just rolled out from the same maker as the low-wing Sting S3. It has a yoke and a wide cabin. Don't know about the loading per seat. The S3 has a max of 250 lbs per seat. http://www.sirius.aero.
dave
Cub flyer

Post by Cub flyer »

Believe it or not we have a guy your height who learned in the J-3.

The only airplane he was comfortable in was the Vagabond. its single place with him in there but it had the headroom.