Zenith CH 601 / 650B Opinions

Talk about airplanes! At last count, there are 39 (and growing) FAA certificated S-LSA (special light sport aircraft). These are factory-built ready to fly airplanes. If you can't afford a factory-built LSA, consider buying an E-LSA kit (experimental LSA - up to 99% complete).

Moderator: drseti

pjdavis

Zenith CH 601 / 650B Opinions

Post by pjdavis »

Hi Group,

I am currently training in a Bristell NG-5 - real nice LSA. I have also flown the RV-12. I really like the Arion Lightning and hope to get a chance to fly one. My goal is buy/build a LSA. Another plane that peaks my interest is the Zenith 650-B. I believe that is what rcpilot bought to learn to fly. Does anyone have any input and/or experience the Arion or Zenith?

Thanks!

PJ
rcpilot

Re: Zenith CH 601 / 650B Opinions

Post by rcpilot »

Hopefully someone besides me will weigh in. Not that I'm an expert, but for me I believe the 601 is great. The useful load on most approaches 600 lbs(not that that's a problem for me anymore), I find it easy to fly, good on gas(with the Rotax 912) and you can use mogas. Great visibility(although I can see why some people have a Sun shade), easy and relatively inexpensive to maintain. My instructor loves it and this is from a guy who flies small jet charters for a living. I still see them for sale, some have glass cockpits so if you don't mind having an ELSA I think they're hard to beat.
pjdavis

Post by pjdavis »

Hi RC,

Thanks, I have been following your training link. I see you are scheduled for 11/2 - crossing my fingers for you! What year is your 601? Instruments? Have you flown other LSA's?

Thanks!

PJ
rcpilot

Post by rcpilot »

It was built in 2004. It has basic instruments, altimeter, vertical speed, airspeed, RPM, oil pressure, oil temp, water temp, fuel right and left, ammeter. I have a portable GPS that interfaces with the autopilot but we're somewhat suspicious it's not working correctly(the autopilot). Electric trim switches.