Sling LSA vs RV-12iS

Talk about airplanes! At last count, there are 39 (and growing) FAA certificated S-LSA (special light sport aircraft). These are factory-built ready to fly airplanes. If you can't afford a factory-built LSA, consider buying an E-LSA kit (experimental LSA - up to 99% complete).

Moderator: drseti

MegL

Sling LSA vs RV-12iS

Post by MegL »

Hey, I'm a student pilot looking to buy either the Sling or the RV-12iS. The RV 12 seems to be a good, well proven and well-supported aircraft, and I like the useful load. Price and operational ceiling (17,500!) also compare favorably with the Sling for someone living in the high desert with mountains nearby. Looks like the landing gear issues with the RV have been addressed. My concern though is that it tends to be very windy here, and the demonstrated crosswind performance of the RV-12 is significantly lower than the Sling (11 vs. 15 knots).

I've flown both airplanes, and while they both handle exceptionally well, the Sling feels more solid and flies like a bigger plane. Downside is that it's relatively new in the US, with just over 30 registered as compared to 650 RV's. Any feedback from Sling owners re: reliability / maintenance issues or other concerns, and RV-12 owners re: crosswind performance? Thanks!
Warmi

Re: Sling LSA vs RV-12iS

Post by Warmi »

The price will be lower for sure for the RV 12 but any operational limitations like max ceiling should be pretty much the same given that both use the same engine.

Frankly, both planes will perform similar given that both are reasonably sleek low wings running the same engine.

One notable difference is that the Sling is built to run at gross of 1500 lbs Vs 1320 for the RV which may give you options in the future if rules do change.