Cert Advise

Sport aviation is growing rapidly. But the new sport pilot / light-sport aircraft rules are still a mystery to many flight schools and instructors. To locate a flight school offering sport pilot training and/or light-sport aircraft rentals, click on the "Flight School And Rental Finder" tab above. This is a great place to share ideas on learning to fly, flight schools, costs and anything else related to training.

Moderator: drseti

New2me

Cert Advise

Post by New2me »

Hello, my name is Chris and I just joined this site. I apologize in advance because this will likely be long winded. I've made my questions in bold if you care to just skip my ramblings. In short, I am an aspiring pilot looking for advise on the proper training. My intent is to get a pilot cert so I can fly UL aircraft and take my wife/family/friends up with me. As I understand it, I would not qualify for PAR 103 because of the passenger and also my aircraft may no longer qualify if its large enough to carry said passenger.

About 5 years ago I decided I was finally going to learn to fly. I went out and got an intro flight in a UL trike at Cushing's Field. It was amazing! However, I didn't go any further because I was not in a position to purchase an aircraft and was educated during the flight that it would be necessary to have my own aircraft to finish my training.

So 5 years later I'm in a position to buy an aircraft but am not sure which is the best route for me. What I want is something portable and have come up with some aircraft I would be interested in.

- UL Trike
- PPG
- Quicksilver S2 or similar