After flying hiatus, now researching LSAs

Pilot? Student pilot? Future pilot? Interested in learning to fly? If you're reading this forum, you've got flying in your blood! SportPilotTalk is a great place to ask questions about this exciting new segment of (more) affordable aviation!

Moderator: drseti

Jack Tyler

After flying hiatus, now researching LSAs

Post by Jack Tyler »

I'd like to post a few new topics on this forum, perhaps some of them 'old news' to most of you, so an introduction to explain why I'm here might be a good idea. I'm an instrument rated private pilot (land) with a good medical, but my wife and I changed over a decade ago from flying to sailing. After visiting 52 (or was it 53...?) countries and island nations, we are interested in re-entering general aviation, and it sure seems like the LSA 'movement' is where most of the action is these days. Thus, my interest in joining this forum.

I have been spending some time researching LSA aircraft and LSA manufacturers (and for that matter LSA accidents, some of which make for chilling reading). Based on what I've seen so far - and by 'seen', I include video clips of some 'LSA Factories' (aka: hangars) that can be found on mfgrs' websites - it seems to me that two issues that deserve more visibility in the Forum Index are 'safety' and 'manufacturing capability'. I'm not really sure where either of these topics belong in the current Forum architecture. But more to the point, perhaps more discussion about both topics would be a bit more forthcoming if the Index more clearly called attention to them.