Experience with the Viper SD4?

Talk about airplanes! At last count, there are 39 (and growing) FAA certificated S-LSA (special light sport aircraft). These are factory-built ready to fly airplanes. If you can't afford a factory-built LSA, consider buying an E-LSA kit (experimental LSA - up to 99% complete).

Moderator: drseti

FlyingBliss

Experience with the Viper SD4?

Post by FlyingBliss »

I’m a recently licensed Private Pilot, as of March 5th, with most of my 148 hrs in low wing planes (PA28A, PA28R, SR20). I’m in the process of searching for a cost efficient (i.e. LSA with fuel-sipping Rotax) 2-seat low wing plane for my wife and I. After I purchase the plane I plan to register it as E-LSA and get my IR in it. After a lot of research, the Bristell and the RV-12 seem to be in the lead, with the only downside of the Bristell being the price tag. I’ve recently discovered the Viper SD4 (https://vipersd4.com/) and it looks like a very capable LSA, a lot like the Bristell. AOPA published an article about the Viper a couple of years ago (https://www.aopa.org/news-and-media/all ... nder-90000).

I plan to go down to Florida later this summer for a demo flight in the Viper, but I was wondering if there are any Viper owners on Sport Pilot Talk that could provide their feedback on this plane?
Private Pilot looking for a flying machine to call my own
Sling 2 Pilot

Re: Experience with the Viper SD4?

Post by Sling 2 Pilot »

Hav you looked at the SLING 2? You can have/order it as an SLSA or do a builders assist and go EAB. If you go EAB, you get IFR and 1540 MAUW, instead of 1320. I have a factory built LSA. Cam, is on here and recently finished his assisted built Sling 2. The build center was Midwest Sky Sports, in MI. PM me if you need more info. Good Luck.
Warmi

Post by Warmi »