Cross Country requirement

Sport aviation is growing rapidly. But the new sport pilot / light-sport aircraft rules are still a mystery to many flight schools and instructors. To locate a flight school offering sport pilot training and/or light-sport aircraft rentals, click on the "Flight School And Rental Finder" tab above. This is a great place to share ideas on learning to fly, flight schools, costs and anything else related to training.

Moderator: drseti

motorman1974

Cross Country requirement

Post by motorman1974 »

So I am familiar with the cross country requirement, my question is.....for the practical test, do we have to file a flight plan, contact FSS to open flight plan, etc??? Or is it just pilotage and dead reckoning for navigation??
I am a private pilot student transitioning my hours to a SPL. I did one solo cross country before transitioning. Of course, I filed the flight plan, FSS, Navigated via VOR’s. Just noticed for a Sport Pilot there is no training on VOR’s so I’m assuming all we need to do for navigating cross country is Pilotage and dead reckoning.
Getting ready to take my practical test soon!!!!!
Warmi

Re: Cross Country requirement

Post by Warmi »

Probably depends on the particular DPE.

In my case he just told me , forget the plan or paper just fly the way you would be flying if I wasn't here with you .. so I did , using my GPS etc ...
Flying Sting S4 ( N184WA ) out of Illinois
motorman1974

Post by motorman1974 »

That would be awesome if he did do that. Honestly, probably 90% of pilots use a gps or equivalent anyway. Though i do understand the need to know the “old fashion” way. Lol
joey4420

Post by joey4420 »

When I took my ride with the DPE, I didn't file anything, just made the flight plan and had it charted out all on paper. I did bring my Ipad with FlyQ EFB installed and updated with my flight plan on it as well.